一开始我是倒向微软的。在大学我加入过微软技术俱乐部,吃力不讨好地学习过 C、C++、Windows API、MFC、VC++ .NET、VC# .NET、DirectX、SQL Server,也许还不止这些,但没有一个真正搞懂过,也可以说是知难而退。我曾经嘲笑 Java 又慢又丑,OpenGL 迟早要败给 DirectX,甚至嘲笑 Java 技术俱乐部没钱了。谁又曾想到,现在 Java 是我的第一武器,OpenGL 帮助我学习计算机图形学;而微软的 MFC、.NET 什么的成了我厌恶的对象。今天我也随着 Linux 的创始人李纳斯·托沃兹把 C++ 也鄙视了。以后我可能就只用 Java 和 C 了。
  这个转折是从找工作开始的。当时我那点皮毛的微软技术,谁也不会要,于是想找个捷径。正好流行 J2ME,据说上手也容易,于是开始学 Java,然后我才知道 Java 是简洁而优美的语言,且速度并不亚于 C++ 之流。就这么一直到现在。因为对市场持怀疑态度,Java ME(J2ME 改名了)没有继续了,Java SE 一直在学,Java EE 始终不太喜欢,因为我感兴趣的是眼睛能看到效果的。学了好一阵 Swing 和 Java2D 后,想研究一下更底层的学问,也就是正在学习的计算机图形学。

    In the beginning I was on the side of Microsoft. I had joined Microsoft Technical Club in university, learn C, C++, Windows API, MFC, VC++ .NET, VC# .NET, DirectX, SQL Server and maybe more very hard but got little. I had never got to really understand even one of them, or I just retreated before the impossible. I used to laugh at Java’s slowness and ugly, at OpenGL’s defeated by DirectX sooner or later, and even at Java Technical Club’s lack of money. Who had thought that Java is now my first-place weapon, OpenGL helps me study computer graphics, but Microsoft’s MFC, .NET or so becomes what I am sick of. And today I look down on C++ together with Linus Torvalds, founder of Linux. I will probably only use Java and C in the future.
    This turn started from when I was looking for a job. At that time, my superficial knowledge of Microsoft technology appealed to nobody, and I wanted to find out a shortcut. J2ME was popular and said to be easy to get start with, so I began to learning Java, and realized Java is a terse and beautiful language and its speed is no slower that C++ and its like. That lasts to today. Java ME was given up (J2ME has changed its name) because of my suspicion of its market, Java SE is always leared, and Java EE is never liked because I am interested in that whose effects can be seen. After a long time of learning Swing and Java2D, I want to study more lower level staffs which turns out to be Computer Graphics I am currently learning.